Builta Elementary School

Indian Prairie School District 204

Builta News

Jill DeFarno Receives A+ Award

Reported by clayton_urbanick@ipsd.org on 9/26/17

The Indian Prairie Educational Foundation and District 204 honored Jill DeFarno, LMC Director at Builta Elementary, as the first A+ Award recipient of the 2017-18 school year.

You can watch the A+ Award team’s surprise visit to recognize Jill for “Making a Difference” at A+ Award video.

Parent Laura Reynolds praised DeFarno for transforming the LMC and making it a place for students, staff and parents to enjoy reading and technology. “She is not a librarian and this is not a library— this is a place for the kids to come and collaborate and have fun. Her energy is throughout the entire LMC. She has introduced so many new things, from small remote controlled computers to a Lego wall, new seating and, of course, books. We are lucky to have her in our district and at Builta.”

DeFarno has been an educator for 22 years. This is her fourth year at Builta as the LMC Director.

When asked what she likes most about her job, DeFarno quickly responded that it's all about making connections. “I get to meet every kid in the building. I know all the families,” DeFarno said. “We talk books, we talk technology, we do makerspace stuff. I get to have fun and play, get hugs all day, go home and do it all over again the next day.”

Wells Fargo Advisors is partnering with IPEF and District 204 to help recognize one staff member each month for making a difference for students. To celebrate these outstanding staff members, Wells Fargo Advisors is donating $500 for the staff member to use in his or her school.

Learn more and nominate a staff member at A+ Award.


Edit This Story

Builta Badgers. Winner of the Academic Excellence Award.

Contact Us

Principal: Kim Stephens

1835 Apple Valley Road (map)
Bolingbrook, IL‎ 60490

Phone: 630.226.4400
Fax: 630.226.4401
Attendance: 630.226.4400 x3

Is there something you'd like to tell us? Please let us know!


Follow Builta (@Builta60490) and IPSD 204 (@ipsd204) on Twitter for the latest news and info.

©Indian Prairie Community Unit School District 204, serving Naperville, Aurora, Bolingbrook, & Plainfield, IL. Login